Different classes of Digital Signature Certificates (DSC) in India ?

  • Class 0 Certificate: This certificate shall be issued only for demonstration/ test purposes.
  • Class 1 Certificate: Class 1 certificates shall be issued to individuals/private subscribers. These certificates will confirm that user’s name (or alias) and E-mail address form an unambiguous subject within the Certifying Authorities database.
  • Class 2 Certificate: These certificates will be issued for both business personnel and private individuals use. These certificates will confirm that the information in the application provided by the subscriber does not conflict with the information in well-recognized consumer databases.

To obtain your Class 2 digital signature certificate (DSC) – click here

  •  Class 3 Certificate: This certificate will be issued to individuals as well as organizations. As these are high assurance certificates, primarily intended for e-commerce applications, they shall be issued to individuals only on their personal (physical) appearance before the Certifying Authorities.

To obtain your Class 3 digital signature certificate (DSC) – click here

For ROC e-Filing : You will require Class 2 DSC and above.
For Income Tax e-Filing : Class 2 and above
For Northern Railway e-Tendering : Class 3
For IRCTC Purpose e-Ticketing : Class 3

A digital signature is an electronic signature….

A digital signature is an electronic signature used to authenticate the identity of the sender of a message or the signer of a document, and possibly to ensure that the original content of the message or document that has been sent is unchanged. It can be used with any kind of message, whether it is encrypted or not, simply so that the receiver can be sure of the sender’s identity and that the message arrived intact. Digital Signature Certificates can be used for eFiling of Income Tax Returns, eTendering in India on Government Websites such as Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation, and also Director General of Foreign Trade, Ministry of Corporate Affairs and Registrar of Companies Applications.

Efiling in India Mandatory with Digital Signature Certificates

Now ITR efiling with digital signature is mandatory for Individual,HUF and Firms also to whom Audit provision u/s 44AB is applicable. Income Tax Department has issued a notification 37/2011 dated 01.07.2011 in this regard. After issuance of Notification Individual /Hindu undivided family assessees (covered under audit section 44AB)have to file ITR 4 and Firms (covered under audit section 44AB) have to file ITR-5 with digital signature.Companies are already directed to file returns through digital signature only.

USB eTokens for DSC

  • It is secure Device, used specifically to carry Digital Credentials of individuals and is primarily used for Two Factor authentication.
  • A virus cannot affect USB eToken, and the digital Certificate stored would always be secure.
  • USB eTokens were created for security, and they are used extensively for 2 Factor Authentication.
  • USB eTokens offer military grade security and the contents are also encrypted internally.
  • In USB eToken when you insert the eToken, it automatically copies the certificate to the browser and when you remove the eToken it automatically removes the certificate from the browser.
  • The Private key never leaves the eToken and signing takes place within the eToken itself. So, the security is guaranteed.
  • USB eToken are specifically used for secure storage, so the data reliability is higher in eToken.
  • Aladdin eToken has been in the market for over ten years, and we have been supplying product purely based on quality. So, when aclient gets an eToken, it is assured that no corners have been cut, the product in his hand is the best money could buy.
  • Where as in eToken, it is simply storing un-signed cheque book in your vault.

About Digital Signature Certificate (DSC) – What? Why? How? Who?

Why Digital Signatures ?

Ministry of Company Affairs, Government of India (GoI) has initiated MCA21 program, for easy and secure access to its services in a manner that best suits the businesses and citizens. MCA21 is envisioned to provide anytime and anywhere services to businesses. It is a pioneering program being the first mission mode e-governance project being undertaken in the country. This program builds on the GoI vision to introduce a Service Oriented Approach in the design and delivery of Government services, establish a healthy business ecosystem and make the country globally competitive.

The MCA21 application is designed to support Class 2 & 3 Digital Signature Certificates (DSC) issued by licensed Certifying Authority under Controller of Certifying Authorities, GoI.

Those individuals recommended and forwarded by Superior Authority or those who approach any RA office operating under CA with proper certification from Chartered Accountant/Cost Accountant can avail our certification services for obtaining digital certificate.

What is a Digital Signature Certificate?

Digital signature certificates (DSC) are the digital equivalent (that is electronic format) of physical or paper certificates. Examples of physical certificates are drivers’ licenses, passports or membership cards. Certificates serve as a proof of identity of an individual for a certain purpose; for example a driver’s license identifies someone who can legally drive in a particular country. Likewise, a digital certificate can be presented electronically to prove your identity, to access information or services on the Internet or to sign certain documents digitally.

Why is Digital Signature Certificate (DSC) required?

Like physical documents are signed manually, electronic documents, for example e-forms are required to be signed digitally through Digital Signature Certificate. As per MCA21 project of ministry of company affairs all the company forms have to be filed electronically.

Who issues the Digital Signature Certificate?

A licensed Certifying Authority (CA) issues the digital signature. Certifying Authority (CA) means a person who has been granted a licence to issue a digital signature certificate under Section 24 of the Indian IT-Act 2000. The list of licensed CAs along with their contact information is available on www.mca.gov.in . You can obtained your DSC from LRA (Licensed Registration Authority) of MTNL www.digitalsignature.in

What are the different types of Digital Signature Certificates?

Class 1: These certificates do not hold any legal validity as the validation process is based only on a valid e-mail ID and involves no direct verification.

Class 2: Here, the identity of a person is verified against a trusted, pre-verified database.

Class 3: This is the highest level where the person needs to present himself or herself in front of a Registration Authority (RA) and prove his/ her identity.

Who can have digital signature certificate?

Any person can apply to the certifying authority for issue of a DSC in the prescribed form. While prescribing, the government can differentiate the fee structure for different classes of applicants. The applicant shall also enclose a certification practice statement and in the absence of such a statement, particulars, as prescribed by regulations, have to be given.

How is the DSC issued?

The certifying authority, on receipt of the application, after due consideration of the certification statement and other particulars and enquiry, can grant the DSC. Discretion is vested with the certifying authority to reject any application. Reasons should be recorded in case of rejection.